SD firms take home 6 AIA South Dakota design awards

South Dakota architecture firms took home six American Institute of Architecture (AIA) South Dakota Design Awards, three coveted Honor Awards and three Merit awards, on Friday, Sept. 14, during a ceremony that marked the culmination of AIA South Dakota’s annual conference.

TSP Inc. of Sioux Falls captured an Honor Award for Architecture for its design of the DSU Beacom Institute of Technology in Madison, a project that also won the 2018 AIA SD People’s Choice award. TSP also won a Merit Award for Architecture for its design of the new Augustana University Froiland Science Complex in Sioux Falls. TSP partnered with SmithgroupJJR on both projects.

Koch Hazard Architects of Sioux Falls took home an Honor Award for Architecture for its design of the renovation of the South Dakota State Capitol Law Library in Pierre. Koch Hazard also won a Merit Award for Architecture for its design of the Jones 421 residential/commercial center in downtown Sioux Falls.

South Dakota State University DoArch, the state’s accredited architecture program, took home an Honor Award for Detailing and Craftsmanship for its design of the Lamella Arch in Brookings. Ciavarella Design Architects of Mitchell won a Merit Award for Architecture for its renovation design of Hyde Stadium in Pierre.

John Ronan, FAIA, founding principal of John Ronan Architects in Chicago, served as juror, considering nearly two-dozen submitted projects. Ronan, who is known for abstract yet sensuous work that explores materiality and atmosphere, holds a Master of Architecture degree with distinction from the Harvard University Graduate School of Design and is the John and Jeanne Rowe Endowed Chair Professor of Architecture at the Illinois Institute of Technology College of Architecture.

Here are photos of the winners (click to enlarge the images and launch a slide show):

AIA South Dakota President Patri Acevedo, AIA, of JLG Architects in Rapid City, presented President’s Awards to: Sandy Dickenson, AIA, of Fine Line Architecture in Vermillion, for serving a term on the AIA national Strategic Council; John Riker, Assoc. AIA, of JLG Architects in Rapid City, for leadership with AIA SD advocacy efforts; and Gene Fennell, AIA, of Fennell Design, for service and leadership to the organization as immediate Past President.

AIA South Dakota also announced the election of its new board for 2018-2019, with two new board members replacing Leap Chear, AIA, EAPC, Sioux Falls, and Kris Bjerke, AIA, Architecture Incorporated, Rapid City, who complete their terms of service at the end of the year. Immediate Past President Gene Fennell, AIA, Fennell Design Inc., Rapid City, is also completing his final year of board service.

  • President: Patri Acevedo, AIA, JLG Architects, Rapid City
  • Vice-President: Thomas Hurlbert, AIA, CO-OP Architecture, Sioux Falls
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Michelle Klobassa, AIA, TSP Inc., Sioux Falls
  • Continuing board members: Allison Dvorak, AIA, TSP Inc., Sioux Falls; Jenn Johnson, AIA, TSP Inc., Rapid City; and Sienna Wegehaupt, AIA, Puetz Corporation, Mitchell; Keith Thompson, AIA, Koch Hazard Architects, Sioux Falls; Andrew Eitreim, AIA, Architecture Incorporated, Sioux Falls; and Brian Rex, Assoc. AIA, South Dakota State University Department of Architecture, Brookings
  • New board members: Jeff Nelson, Falls Architecture Studio, Sioux Falls; and Randy Fisher, Designworks Inc., Rapid City.

Friday night’s award ceremony and dinner was sponsored by Journey Group, TSP Inc., L.G. Everist and Minuteman Press.

Featured photo of 2018 Design Awards by Cipher Imaging

Leave a Reply