Meet Your 2020 AIA SD Board

2020 brought new faces to the board and we would like to take this opportunity to introduce them to you. We asked board members, veterans and newly appointed alike, what called them to serve on the board and their vision for 2020. Please join me in thanking these individuals for their time and service to AIA South Dakota.

Tom Hurlbert, AIA

AIA National Young Architects of the Year Award

Principal Architect, co-founder at CO-OP Architecture

AIA SD President

Previously served as VP, Treasurer, EP Chair, and longtime board member

Tom wouldn’t describe it as a calling. Rather, the AIA board keeps South Dakotans safe, it promotes design to enhance the quality of life, improve economic development, and builds communities. If you want to be an architect here, participation is evident.

A note from Tom: Architects are best suited and trained to participate on public boards, be it preservation, planning, zoning appeals, councils, schools, downtowns, B.I.D.’s, building committees, safety, parks, or any placemaking organization. We can’t just be satisfied with being for hire, we need to shape the future from the driver’s seat. Most are, but we need all of our members actively involved in the public board realm as citizen architects.

Allison Dvorak, AIA, NCARB, CPHC

Architect at Stone Group Architects


3rd Year Serving on the Board

When Allison joined the board for AIA South Dakota, she was unaware the impact this board had locally, state-wide, and nationally.  Within in the last two years, Allison has been able to see the strength and leadership of all the board members within their work on the board, as well as in their professional careers to better their communities. She’s grateful to be part of a board that has helped guide and inspire her to contribute the same to my community and to South Dakota.

Allison’s goal this year for the AIA SD board (and herself as President-Elect) is to become more proactive with legislation by showcasing the value of an architect’s skills as it relates to the health, safety, and welfare of our community members.

Jeff Nelson

Jeff Nelson, AIA, NCARB

Architect at Falls Architecture Studio


Nelson is the founder of Falls Architecture Studio in Sioux Falls. In his community of Crooks, South Dakota, Nelson has served on the city council and is currently on the Housing and Redevelopment Commission. He also served on the AIA SD board as an officer and past president, and is the immediate past board chairman of the South Dakota State Board of Technical Professions.

Patri Acevedo

Patri Acevedo, AIA, CPHC

Architect at JLG Architects

AIA SD Past President

As the head of JLG Architects’ Rapid City office, Patri Acevedo brings over 20 years of experience from around the country. Patri was the owner and principal at AcV2 architecture prior to merging with JLG Architects. In addition to professional leadership, Patri brings cultural sensitivity to each and every project. Born and raised in San Juan, Puerto Rico, Patri resided in New York, Florida and Texas before making the Black Hills her home. Her varied background enriches the design process and enhances her ability to partner with clients, collaborators, and consultants.

Brian E. Johnson, AIA, NCARB, EDAC, LEED GA

Senior Architect at TSP, Inc.

New to the Board

Brian was called to be on the AIA board dating back to his first years as an architectural intern. One of his mentors served various positions on various boards and always strongly advocated for Brian to serve the AIA.

Brian’s vision for the board in 2020 is to strengthen the relationship between SDSU DoArch and AIA SD in various ways.

Chase Kramer, AIA, LEED GA

Project Architect at TSP, Inc.

Board Member

Having served on a number of boards that have had varied results and effectiveness, Chase recognizes the importance of having a governing body of practitioners (architects) making decisions that affect and build-up their actual practice (AIA/architecture). As an architect, he feels a duty to provide some directorship at some point during his career, and the opportunity arose for him to step in.

Chase doesn’t have a specific vision for 2020, but he intends to continue what he sees is an already strong chapter of the AIA and perhaps seeing the organization more involved with emerging professionals and young architects.

Jenn Johnson AIA, NCARB, LEED GA

Project Manager at Black Hills Energy

Board Member

Jenn joined the AIA South Dakota board in 2017 and has been involved with the Design in the Hills committee. Her primary objective is to be an advocate for architects and to provide opportunities for architects across the state to come together and learn.

Justin Oleson AIA, NCARB

Associate at RSArchitects

New to the Board

Justin was called to be on the AIA board in order to get more involved. He’s always interested in the thoughts and perspectives of other Architects and Design Professionals in our state. When the opportunity to join the AIA board presented itself, Justin jumped at the opportunity.

Justin’s vision for the board in 2020 is to fully support the continued “looking inwards” to what we’ve been able to accomplish in our state. Justin is excited to continue to promote good work by Architects in all corners of South Dakota.

Keith Thompson, LEED AP BD+C

Principal at Koch Hazard Architects

Board Member

Keith joined the board as an associate member, just looking to get involved and learn more about the profession.  Over the years he’s been pleased to be a part of the board’s evolution and growing services to our members.

For 2020, Keith sees the organization continuing to raise our visibility in legislative advocacy, and come out of the virus-related crisis on strong footing, ready to continue our growth in 2021.

Randy J Fisher, AIA, ASLA, APA

President at Designworks, Inc.

Board Member

Randy’s primary objective for serving on the SDAIA Board is to bring a collaborative perspective with allied professionals.  Being a dually registered  landscape architect and architect, he has a career working jointly with architects and engineers providing pragmatic and creative site design solutions.  He is committed to providing sustainable strategies that conserve energy, promote social interaction, and protect our natural environment.

Sienna Wegehaupt, AIA, NCARB

Architect at Puetz Design + Build

Board Member

Sienna recently moved back to South Dakota after graduate school and felt that joining the AIA SD Board would be a good opportunity to become more involved in South Dakota’s architecture community.

Sienna has learned a lot through her time on the board and has enjoyed getting to know more people both on the AIA board and within the larger membership. In 2020, she hopes to support AIA committees and state architecture events.

Robert Arlt

Robert Arlt, AIA, CPHC

Architecture Instructor, SDSU DoArch

Board Member

Robert Arlt Architect is an award-winning architecture practice based in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. The studio focuses on design success through crafting performative architecture — integrating high performance strategies with contemporary architecture and fabrications in a setting not known for either. This pursuit has resulted in recognition for projects that rely on linking project research with concept designs and well executed materials, systems and details that often use inexpensive off-the-shelf products in new ways.

Robert commits a large share of his time to academia, serving as a full-time instructor at South Dakota State University teaching in the advanced design studios and building science sequences.

One Reply to “Meet Your 2020 AIA SD Board”

Leave a Reply